The Gig
The Gig
Bar Talk with Dave Rempis
2
0:00
-44:00

Bar Talk with Dave Rempis

Listen in on happy hour at The Green Mill
2
Dave Rempis on familiar turf at The Green Mill, June 3, 2024. (Nate Chinen)

Dave Rempis has a big, burly sound on saxophone, and his instinct as an improviser tends toward rough epiphany. His Aerophonic Records is a model of sustainable scale. We recently caught up over a couple rounds at The Green Mill, talking about the avant-garde sound, the Chicago scene, and how he keeps his operation going.

I first heard Rempis in the late ‘90s as a member of The Vandermark 5, a killer band that I eventually covered in New York: here’s my NY Times review (gift link) of a show at Tonic in 2006. I’ve closely followed Dave’s work since, notably on Aerophonic, which is about to drop its 44th release: Propulsion, featuring a quartet with Jason Adasiewicz on vibraphone, Joshua Abrams on bass and Tyler Damon on drums.

This summer, while I was in town for an event with Brad Mehldau at the Chicago Humanities Festival, I reached out to Dave and suggested we grab a drink. He had just come off a tour, so the timing was just right. So think of this audio episode as pulling up a barstool and eavesdropping on a cool conversation — our very first, in fact. I think you’ll get a lot out of it, and I’m pretty sure you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a comment


Thanks as always for reading The Gig. I especially want to thank you if you’re a paid subscriber. If you’ve been enjoying what I do here but haven’t yet upgraded, I hope you’ll consider it. Your support makes this whole thing possible. Appreciate you!

Discussion about this podcast

The Gig
The Gig
Riffs on music and culture, improvised and otherwise, from critic Nate Chinen
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Nate Chinen